Architecture, Architecture awards, Architecture competition, Jury, World architecture, World Architecture Festival

World Architecture Festival Reveals ‘Super Jury’ for 2017 Awards

Four big names from the architecture industry have been announced as members of the ‘Super Jury’, which will judge the awards programme this November at the 2017 World Architecture Festival in Berlin.

Leading the panel will be jury chair Robert Ivy, chief executive officer of the American Institute of Architects. Other members include Nathalie de Vries, director and co-founder of MVRDV; Ian Ritchie, founder of Ian Ritchie Architects; and Christoph Ingenhoven, founder of Ingenhoven Architects.

The four will be joining another 80 festival judges, including influential architecture figures like Gert Wingårdh, Sergei Tchoban and Sanjay Puri.

The festival and awards ceremony is the world’s largest global architectural awards programme, and has taken place in various global cities. Between 2008 and 2011, the World Architecture Festival was hosted in Barcelona, while other host cities include Marina Bay Sands, Singapore, and now Berlin, Germany.

The deadline for entries has been extended to 2 June 2017, and architects can submit their proposals via the festival’s website.

An underground museum in Poland has won the title World Building of the Year 2016, designed by Polish architect Robert Konieczny, who leads a studio called KWK Promes.

You can also view projects in the Gulf who made it to the 2016 World Building of the Year shortlist.