Murcutt to chair 2017 Pritzker jury – Calatrava among favourites for title

The jury has been announced for the 2017 Pritzker Prize with the winner set to be announced in March.

Among the frontrunners for architecture’s version of the Nobel Prize are Dubai Creek Harbour Tower designer Santiago Calatrava – top of Middle East Architect’s global power list – Dubai-Abu Dhabi hyperloop visionary Bjarke Ingels and Kengo Kumar, set to create the 2020 Tokyo Olympics Stadium.

The Pritzker Prize has announced that the 2017 laureate will be selected by a jury chaired by Glenn Murcutt (pictured), architect and 2002 Pritzker Laureate, from Sydney, Australia.

Also on the panel are Stephen Breyer, US Supreme Court Justice; Yung Ho Chang, architect and lecturer, from Beijing; alongside Kristin Feireiss, architecture curator, writer and editor, from Berlin.

UK representatives are Lord Palumbo, architectural patron, Chairman Emeritus of the Trustees, Serpentine Galleries, London and Richard Rogers, architect and 2007 Pritzker Laureate.

The jury is made up by Benedetta Tagliabue, architect, from Barcelona, Ratan Tata, of the Tata Group, Mumbai, while Martha Thorne, executive director of the Pritzker Prize and also Dean of the Span-based IE School of Architecture and Design manages the open nominations process, which accepts suggestions from architects from all over the world.

Last year, Chilean architect and Curator of the Venice Architecture Biennale Alejandro Aravena won the award due to his dedication to socially-engaged architecture.

The 48-year-old was praised by the jury for “creating powerful works of architecture and also addressing key challenges of the 21st century”.