Architecture, Pritzker Architecture Prize Jury, SANAA, Sejima Kazuyo, The Pritzker Architecture Prize

Japanese architect Sejima Kazuyo of SANAA joins Pritzker Prize Jury

The Pritzker Architecture Prize has appointed architect Sejima Kazuyo, co-founder of Japanese studio SANAA, as the newest jury member of the industry awards.

Kazuyo is the 2010 Pritzker Laureate, an accolade that has come to be known internationally as architecture’s highest honor. This year also marks the 40th anniversary of the Pritzker Architecture Prize.

Having co-founded Tokyo-based SANAA, alongside fellow 2010 Pritzker Laureate Nishizawa Ryue in 1995, Kazuyo is also a professor at Polytechnic University of Milan; University of Applied Arts Vienna; Keio University, Tokyo; Yokohama Graduate School of Architecture Y-GSA; as well as a visiting professor at Japan Women’s University, Tokyo.

“I am looking forward to working with my colleagues on the jury and supporting the mission of the Pritzker Prize,” Kazuyo  said of the appointment.

“During her acceptance speech of the 2010 Pritzker Prize, Ms. Sejima remarked, ‘…this award is not only in recognition of our past works but rather an encouragement toward new architectural creations,’” Tom Pritzker, chairman of Hyatt Foundation remarked.

“It is this credence, alongside her international background and experience, that makes her a welcomed addition to the Jury.”

Kazuyo was appointed as the director of the 12th Venice Architecture Biennale in 2010, and was named Japan Institute of Architects’ Young Architect of the Year in Japan in 1992.

Having taught at a number of high profile institutions including Princeton University and Polytechnique de Lausanne, she opened Kazuyo Sejima & Associates in Tokyo in 1987. She later joined the office of 2013 Pritzker Laureate Toyo Ito upon completing her architectural studies at Japan Woman’s University in 1981.

Kazuyo’s personal projects include House in Plum Grove in Tokyo and the Inujima Art House Project in Okayama, Japan.

Other notable projects completed by Kazuyo with SANAA include the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art in Kanazawa, the Rolex Learning Center (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), the Louvre-Lens, and Grace Farms in New Canaan, Connecticut.

The 2018 Laureate will be announced in March, followed by the official ceremony in Toronto, Canada, this spring.

The 2017 Pritzker Laureate’s were Catalan architects Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramon Vilalta of RCR Arquitectes. The architects are known in the Middle East for their recently completed Muraba Residences on Dubai’s Palm Jumeirah, inspired by the stretch of sea that surrounds it.

READ MORE: Dubai developer applauds Architecture Pritzker Prize winners RCR Arquitectes

Past Pritzker Laureate’s include Alejandro Aravena, Frei Otto, Shigeru Ban, and Toyo Ito.  

In 2014, the now-design director at Zaha Hadid Architects, Patrik Schumacher expressed concern about the winning criteria for the Pritzker Prize being more about humanitarian work than than innovation.