Architecture, Buildings, Built projects, Kuwait, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, UAE, World Architecture Festival

Buildings in UAE, Palestine, Saudi Arabia shortlisted for World Architecture Festival

Built projects in the Gulf and wider Middle East have been shortlisted for awards at the 2017 World Architecture Festival (WAF), which will  be taking place for the second time in Berlin this November.

The Memorial Monument and Pavilion of Honour in Abu Dhabi, UAE by Idris Kahn with bureau^proberts and Urban Arts Projects has been shortlisted for the Civic and Community award.

Memorial Monument and Pavilion of Honour in Abu Dhabi.

Dabbagh Architects’ Mleiha Archaeological Centre in Sharjah, which received last year’s Middl East Architect Award for Community and Cultural Project of the Year, is shortlisted under the Culture section. Also under Culture is the newly completed Palestine Museum by Ireland-based architects Heneghan Peng, which features a stone exterior.

Palestine Museum by Ireland-based architects Heneghan Peng.

The KAFD Grand Mosque in Riyadh,  Saudi Arabia by Mahmoud Abu Ghazal, Omrania and Associates has been shortlisted under the Religion category, while the Transport category includes the Astana Train Station in Kazakhstan by Turkish architects, Tabanlioglu.

Projects in Iran have been shortlisted under the housing and residences categories, with projects including Three Views/A House in Tehran, Iran by New Wave Architecture and Villa Residential Apartment by Arsh [4d] studio.

Kuwait and Spain-based AGi Architects is also shortlisted under the House category for its Three Gardens House in Kuwait City. 

Three Gardens House by AGi Architects.

Also by Iranian New Wave Architecture, its Pars Hospital in Rasht, Iran has been shortlisted under the Healthcare category.

Mleiha Archaeological Museum by Dabbagh Architects.

A total of 68 different countries are shortlisted in this year’s awards, where completed buildings where the winning project for a completed building is awarded the World Building of the Year title, while the winning conceptual project is titled Future Project of the Year.

The judges include  MVRDV director Nathalie de Vries, London architect Ian Ritchie and AIA chief executive Robert Ivy.

Last year’s Building of the Year was an underground museum in Poland, designed by Polish architect Robert Konieczny, who leads a studio called KWK Promes.

To view the full shortlist, visit the WAF website.