In pictures: 2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture recipients announced

The winners of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture were announced today in a ceremony in Al Ain, Abu Dhabi. The venue for the winners’ ceremony, the Al Jahili fort in Al Ain, was also announced by His Excellency Awaidha Murshed Al Marar, Chairman of Department of Municipal Affairs and Transport of the United Arab Emirates.

The winners are:

LEBANON: Issam Fares Institute, Beirut (Architect: Zaha Hadid Architects)

A new building for the American University of Beirut’s campus, radical in composition but respectful of its traditional context

IRAN: Tabiat Pedestrian Bridge, Tehran (Architect: Diba Tensile Architecture / Leila Araghian, Alireza Behzadi)

A multi-level bridge spanning a busy motorway has created a dynamic new urban space

BANGLADESH: Bait Ur Rouf Mosque, Dhaka (Architect: Marina Tabassum)

A refuge for spirituality in urban Dhaka, selected for its beautiful use of natural light

Friendship Centre, Gaibandha (Architect: Kashef Mahboob Chowdhury/URBANA)

A community centre which makes a virtue of an area susceptible to flooding in rural Bangladesh

CHINA: Cha’er Hutong Children’s Library and Art Centre, Beijing (Architect: ZAO/standardarchitecture / Zhang Ke)

A children’s library selected for its embodiment of  contemporary life in the traditional courtyard residences of Beijing’s Hutongs

DENMARK: Superkilen, Copenhagen (Architect: BIG- Bjarke Ingels Group, Topotek 1 and Superflex)

A public space promoting integration across lines of ethnicity, religion and culture

Our team is in Abu Dhabi covering the event, so make sure you read an in-depth story and exclusive interviews tomorrow on