MEA Awards, MEA Awards 2018, Middle East Architect Awards, MEA Awards shortlist 2018

Full shortlist for 2018 Middle East Architect Awards revealed

With a little over 3 weeks remaining until the 2018 MEA Awards, here is the full shortlist spanning across all 13 categories.

View full shortlist below: 

Concept Design of the Year

Golshahr Mosque and Plaza by Arash G Tehrani

Superform by REFORM

Dubai Creek Mosque by Binchy and Binchy Architecture

ISF School by BAD. Built by Associative Data

Khor Fakkan Park by desert INK

Sheltainer by Bassel Omara, Mouaz Abouzaid and Ahmed Hammad

Floating Island by Kamran Heirati Architects

Persian Tehran Garden by Hooman Balazadeh and Mohammad Khavarian

Commercial Project of the Year 

Ava Center by Fluid Motion Architects

Aftab Commercial & Office Building by Behzad Atabaki

Saro Gallery by Mehdi Qanavati and Amin Qorbani

Kaarmaan Business Club by Niloofar Niksar and Studio Davazdah

DL Project by PARALX

Landscape Design of the Year

The Block by desert INK

Tashkeel Zen Garden by Loci Architecture & Design

Thirty-Pine Villa by Aleshtar Architectural Office

Viewing Deck Park by NAGA Architects

City Hall Square Rehabilitation by Polsheer Architects

Community & Cultural Project of the Year

Centres for Traditional Music by Office Kersten Geers David Van Severen

Art of Scent by Loci Architecture & Design Studio

Saadiyat Cultural Centre by Aecom

The Rain Room Pavilion by Shape Architecture Practice + Research

Valiasr Mosque By Fluid Motion Architects

Residential Project of the Year

Y Chalet by PARALX

Villa Safadasht by Kamran Heirati Architects

J3 Villa by Loci Architecture & Design

Ham Saye Apartment by Razan Architects

Terrasse House by Hala Younes

V Villa by Reza Asadzadeh and Shabnam Khalilpour

Mahallat Residence by CAAT Studio

Sustainable Project of the Year

Abwab Pavilion by Fahed + Architects

The Block by desert INK

Louvre Abu Dhabi by Jean Nouvel Atelier and BuroHappold Engineering

Tashkeel Zen Garden by Loci Architecture & Design

Swiss International Scientific School by U+A

King Abdullah Petroleum Studies and Research Centre by Zaha Hadid Architects

Leisure & Hospitality Project of the Year

Al Seef by 10 Design

Al Bedayer Desert Oasis by Wael Al Masri Planners & Architects

Fountain View by Dewan Architects & Engineers

Hampton by Hilton Resort by JT & Partners

Kempinski Hotel Muscat by Woods Bagot

Deyaar Hotel by U+A

Public Sector & Education Project of the Year

The International School of Choueifat Umm Al Quwain by ATI Consultants, Architects & Engineers

Fazili Educational Complex by Mohammad Shamaeizadeh and Shirin Shariffar

Sam Building by Navid Emami

Wall of Knowledge by Tarik Zoubdi and Mounir Benchekroun

Swiss International School of Dubai by U+A

Principal of the Year

Phillip Jones, B+H Architects

Hamid Kerayechian, VX Studio

Joe Tabet, JT+Partners

Emad Jaber, LACASA

Hani Fallaha, LOCI Architecture & Design

Nasser B. Abulhasan and Joaquin Perez-Goicoechea, AGi

Jonathan French, Woods Bagot

Young Architect of the Year

Damon Wu, Killa Design

Aezad Muzaffar Alam, REFORM

Ahmed Amin, DAR International

Aras Burak, Perkins+Will

Janneke Eggink, Perkins+Will

Arash G Tehrani, Arash G Tehrani Architecture

Wisam Allami, LAMI Architects

Mohammad Khavarian

Boutique Firm of the Year

AGi Architects

BAD. Built by Associative Data


L.E.D Architects

LOCI architecture + design

Studio Toggle

Architect of the Year:

Melkan Gursel & Murat Tabanlioglu, Tabanlioglu Architects

Roger Doyle, LOCI Architecture & Design

Behzad Atabaki, Behzad Atabaki Studio

Islam El Mashtooly, Perkins+Will, and Mouaz Abouzaid, Dewan Architects & Engineers

Marta Galvez, JT+Partners

Luca Vigliero, Perkins+Will

Amirhossein Tabrizi, A.T Architects

Large Firm of the Year

LACASA Architects & Engineering Consultants

NORR Group Consultants International Ltd

P&T Architects and Engineers

RSP Architects Engineers & Planners

Tabalioglu Architects


Woods Bagot